As the June 30 “Bullet Button Ban” deadline approaches, we at Cross Armory strongly recommend against registering your AR-15 or other semi-automatic weapons.
However, we are here to help all gun owners navigate many of the steps required and provide links required to successfully register, if you so choose to do so. But fair warning, there are several hidden requirements (or at least not publicly discussed) from the state that may have you reconsider registering.
If your “assault” weapon does not have a fixed magazine or is not featureless, then you must register.
So, here we go.
First, all registration must be submitted on or before midnight on June 30. Per the Office of the Attorney General (OAG), “If you are in lawful possession of a bullet button assault weapon that is a Firearm Manufactured By Unlicensed Subject (FMBUS), you must obtain a DOJ-issued serial number by completing form BOF 1008 and emailing it to [email protected]. The serial number issuance process is separate from the assault weapon registration process and must be completed before the assault weapon registration application will be accepted by DOJ.”
When registering, owners must complete a serial number application here. The registration fee is $15.
Then, you must provide the following, per OAG website:
- A minimum of 4 photos of the firearm you are registering
- Close-up of “bullet button style magazine” on the weapon
- Stock to barrel (firearm lying horizontal on flat surface)
- Left and right side of receiver/frame
- Proof of residency
- If using a military ID, permanent duty station orders indicating assignment in California
One problem we’ve seen is there is no guarantee the state will accept your photographs, thus requiring those registering to reapply, which includes an additional $15 fee.
To create an account, visit the California Department of Justice here.
For more about the new laws and regulations, visit here.